A gift for adoptive fathers

8 Nov

It’s been awhile since I posted!  I have been hard at work at my full time job, parenting, and starting an Etsy business selling handmade accessories, mainly hair bows and clippies.  This is a post that combines my full time job and my business: a gift for adoptive fathers!

Image

I am very happy with how these turned out!  I was asked to create a gift for adoptive fathers who are adopting children at our local National Adoption Day celebration.  Those were the only parameters I had to work with.  I love to creatively problem-solve, so this was a challenge I was more than up for.  Having recently started dabbling in bottle cap jewelry (I know, about 2 years late to the party), so I decided to make bottle cap key chains.  I also recently started dabbling in creating bottle cap graphics since there is very little in the way of adoption motifs available.  I created these (very simple) designs using Open Office Draw and had them printed at Fed Ex (formerly Kinko’s).

Once the key chains were assembled, I needed a nice way to package them.   I decided to use my Silhouette Cameo and looked online for ideas. I got the idea from a matchbook notepad I saw and ended up making these oversized matchbooks.  They have 2 small holes in the back through which I threaded 1/8″ grosgrain ribbon and tied the key chain inside.  I added the mustaches for fun.  I made a total of 20 of these, and I only used 7 sheets of 12″ x 12″ cardstock!  I attached the mustaches with Scotch brand Quick-Dry Adhesive.  I just bought this on the recommendation of the supplier I bought the key chain kits from, and I am very happy with it.  It indeed does dry very quickly, and it doesn’t leave the paper all wavy and distorted.

I think I may end up selling these in my shop!

2 Responses to “A gift for adoptive fathers”

  1. ashley.bollinger November 9, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Love this! Two good causes: Adoption Day & Moustache Movember! Looks great!

  2. Katie (Lemon Jitters) November 10, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Aw, love! I am working on our National Adoption Day stuff today. This post totally inspires me for next year’s ideas!

Leave a Reply

